Skip to content

Origin of a name, II

July 12, 2009

“As clay jars we are all frail, weak, transitory mortals,” writes Kent Hughes in his commentary on 2 Corinthians.  As I mentioned last post, I also got to hear Dr. Hughes preach those words.  As God’s children, we certainly like to think of ourselves in many Scriptural terms and phrases, but I doubt we park on this metaphor too often.  Yet I have found it to be most true of my life and when I think to apply it, one of the most helpful.  Why?

The answer comes in continuing to read the text:  “to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us” (2 Cor 4:7b, ESV).  We are, and need to recall it often, clay jars.  Clay jars in whom God has graciously deposited the grace of the Gospel of Christ.  And the divine purpose of all this is to make clear the source of the power of a changed life and thus who gets the glory:   “. . . the surpassing power belongs to God.”

I thank God for calling me to be one of His clay jars.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

