Skip to content

Feeling Inadequate?

September 17, 2009

Surely so somewhere.  As a parent?  At work?  Among friends?  As an applicant for a job?  In dealing with pressure?  As a witness of Jesus Christ?

We can be surprised by those who admit to these feelings (or at least I can).  Take, for instance, the actress Keira Knightley of Pirates of the Caribbean fame.  Here’s how an on-line article described her after interviewing her:

Although she’s received more press in fashion magazines this year than any other, and a recent Forbes list puts her as Hollywood’s second-highest-paid actress, Keira Knightley admits . . . that she feels inadequate next to better educated actors because she never went to university.  “Not going to university did give me an incredible driving force because it leaves you with a slight chip on your shoulder. It makes me feel I am going to read absolutely everything so I can prove that I am not stupid,” she tells the magazine.

Want to hear of one other person who dealt with this (only properly so).  Try the Apostle Paul:

“For we are the aroma of Christ to God among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing, to one a fragrance from death to death, to the other a fragrance from life to life. Who is sufficient for these things?” (2 Corinthians 2:15-16).

As he maybe paused from time to time to reflect upon the Gospel work God had given him to do as an apostle, Paul seemingly felt like he came up short and rightly so.  If we as believers begin to think that it is our own strength or abilities that enable us to live the Christian life, something is dreadfully wrong.

So how did Paul approach this? In humility and with eyes given him to see spiritual truth clearly.  Paul writes in the next chapter of 2 Corinthians, “Such is the confidence that we have through Christ toward God. Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God” (2 Corinthians 3:4-5).

Let this be where we find our confidence as well.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2009 2:10 PM

    Hey, great blog…but I don’t understand how to add your site in my rss reader. Can you Help me, please 🙂

    • September 30, 2009 4:16 PM

      I use “live bookmarks” for my RSS feed. So when I click on the icon on the right next to the words “Subscribe to my feed” it works for me. Let me know if you have more troubles and thanks for the kind words.

Leave a Reply

