Skip to content

Persecuted Church: Pakistan

October 3, 2009

From the Voice of the Martyrs website:


On Wed. Sep 30 2009 at 08:56 AM Moderator wrote:

PAKISTAN – Woman encouraged in Prison – VOM contacts

On Sept. 16, The Voice of the Martyrs contacts in Pakistan reported that 20-year-old Sandul Bibi’s faith is strong despite being held in prison for 11 months. She is encouraged by reading the Bible and a copy of Tortured for Christ. “In the month of March, Sandul…studied (Tortured for Christ). She is really encouraged. Last month when she traveled for Faisalabad for court hearing, secretly she gave that book to her father Gull Sheer and said to him, ‘Please read it in jail. This is a unique book,’” VOM contacts said. When Sandul’s family visited her in prison during the recent Muslim holiday, Ramadan, she told them about fellow prisoners trying to pressure her to celebrate the Islamic holiday which forces Muslims to fast from sun up to sundown. “I am Christian I pray to Jesus Christ why should I say prayers with you,” she told them. “I will not do that.” Even though Sandul has faced some challenges in prison, she told her family her faith in Christ is strong. “When I feel lonely, I talk with God during the prayers, in the presence of God I feel strengthened and peace in mind. I am happy that this way. God fulfils his words that “I am with you,” Sandul said.

I note that Sandul is not very emergent in her not praying with Muslims, is she? 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

