Skip to content

By This We Know Love (UPDATED)

May 27, 2010

[I think I notice quite an improvement in quality by going to the direct link at http://www.vimeo.com/6741547].

By this we know love, that he laid down his life for us. . . .” (I John 3:16a)

Your theology must lead to doxology; if it doesn’t, it likely is dead theology (cf. James 2:17).

I find that the praise of the Redeemer often comes most powerfully to my heart in music.  Thus, I hope this song brings a strong gust of the Spirit’s life to you.

God of all Creation, Lord of heaven’s light
Descended into evil’s darkest night
Infinitely Holy, Your perfections know no end
Selflessly You died my rightful death

CHORUS
By this we know love that He laid down His life
God’s very own Son, came from Heaven to die
Suspended He hung, as He shed His own blood
What grace in His pardon, by this We know love

VERSE 2
Forsaken man of sorrows, hated by all men
You willingly surrendered for my sin
Scornfully derided, yet in silence stumbling on
Bearing wrath for all that I’ve done wrong

© 2009 Sovereign Grace Worship (ASCAP)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

