Skip to content

Asking Questions for Godliness’s Sake

August 29, 2010

Carolyn Mahaney asks the following questions of herself to see if she is still on track to cultivate a “gentle and quiet spirit”:

1. Do I spend more time daily caring for my personal appearance than I do in Bible study, prayer, and worship?

2. Do I spend excessive money on clothes, hair, and makeup, or is it an amount that is God-honoring?

3. Do I want to lose weight to “feel better about myself,” or do I desire to be self-disciplined for the glory of God?

4. Am I on a quest for thinness to impress others [and gain their approval], or do I seek to cultivate eating habits that honor God?

5. Do I exercise to try to create or maintain a “good figure,” or do I exercise to strengthen my body for God’s service?

6. Is there anything about my appearance that I wish I could change, or am I fully grateful to God for the way He created me?

7. Am I jealous of the appearance of others, or am I truly glad when I observe other women who are more physically attractive than I?

8. Do I covet the wardrobe of others, or do I genuinely rejoice when other women are able to afford and purchase new clothing?

9. When I attend an event or activity, do I sinfully compare myself with others, or do I go asking God to show me whom to love and how to do it?

10. Do I ever dress immodestly or with the intent of drawing attention to myself, or do I always dress in a manner that pleases God?

Asking these questions on a consistent basis can help us weed out worldly values and cultivate a heart for God’s priorities.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

