Skip to content

Scripture: Crystal Clear

September 28, 2010

Got to watch the latter portion of the live chapel feed today from Southern Seminary. Speaker was Dr. Timothy George and his subject was “The Perspicuity of Scripture”. Lost you already?  Even Wayne Grudem in his massive systematic theology doesn’t use the word “perspicuity” [pur-spi-kyoo-i-tee] when teaching on the Scriptures and for good reason as he says “The old term for the clarity of Scripture was perspicuity, a term that simply means ‘clarity.’  That term itself is not very clear to people today, and I have not used it in this book” (W. Grudem, Systematic Theology, p. 108)!

Thus, I was intrigued when I saw that Dr. George was sticking with the old term.  And I’m looking forward to a time when I can listen to the whole message. Very good stuff, especially b/c I like history and Dr. George crams a ton of it in his message. I’m also nerdy enough that its more lecture-like tone I actually like.

The best thought I have taken away from Dr. George’s message so far is “We don’t interpret Scripture; Scripture interprets us.”

You can view the message by clicking on the top video on the right side of this page and I hope you will do so soon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

