Skip to content

2011 NIV Update Online!

October 21, 2010
tags:

I’m very much looking forward to this update to the NIV and Zondervan’s announcement that it will be available online before its scheduled 2011 release is here.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    October 21, 2010 10:04 AM

    Sincere question – how does this differ from the TNIV? There are many places where the NIV can be very much improved, but are they slipping the TNIV under a different name? There is no need for gender inclusive translations at the cost of textual fidelity. Personally, I really like the NIV when it sticks to the text, but when it gets rid of critical words necessary for inductive study (pause to praise God for Dr. Fink and Howie Hendricks).

    I know DA Carson does not think the gender inclusive concern is legit, but with rampant relativity, pervasive pluralism, and total tolerance in our culture… the eventual outcome on the market-crazed Bible publishing industry is predictable.

    I hope the update will bring the NIV more in line with the text and not the culture.

    • October 22, 2010 3:15 PM

      Good thoughts, Chris. Whether/How much it differs from the TNIV is one of the things I am really looking forward to seeing. I’m no fan of gender-inclusive translation principles, but (and a big one at that) the value of having almost any new English translation helps me to see past that issue. For an example, take Philippians 3:12, TNIV: “Not that I have already obtained all this, or ‘have already arrived at my goal,’ but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me.” The rendering ‘already arrived at my goal’ seems to me to be what Paul is saying in the Greek and yet this is the first English translation where I’ve seen it translated as such. I’m also ready to see if “sinful nature” returns to “flesh” in the NIV 2011.
      I think we agree on at least this much: if the NIV 2011 embraces the gender-inclusive translation philosophy, then I won’t be able to recommend it to others as their primary Bible. But I will have a copy on my shelf!

Leave a Reply

