Skip to content

Watch What You Say!

October 21, 2010

Over at http://www.npr.org the story is being broken today that long-time liberal contributor Juan Williams is being fired for words he spoke on The O’Reilly Factor concerning Muslims. Since NPR is his employer, I suppose they have the right to do so. In response (apparently) to O’Reilly seeking support for O’Reilly’s views on the Islamic terror threat, Williams had this to say:

“Look, Bill, I’m not a bigot. You know the kind of books I’ve written about the civil rights movement in this country. But when I get on the plane, I got to tell you, if I see people who are in Muslim garb and I think, you know, they are identifying themselves first and foremost as Muslims, I get worried. I get nervous.”

Williams also added a point of warning O’Reilly against blaming all Muslims for “extremists,” saying Christians shouldn’t be blamed for Oklahoma City bomber Timothy McVeigh (a fair and proper warning, I believe).

Words worthy of being fired or not?  How does a Christian worldview think through the issues of terrorism and bigotry being brought up by this case?

(The whole account from NPR’s view is here).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

