Skip to content

A Slithery World of Religion

February 2, 2011

A curious thing happens to us when we get a taste of God. It happened first in Eden and it keeps happening. The experience of God – the ecstacy, the wholeness of it – is accompanied by a temptation to reproduce the experiences as God. The taste for God is debased into a greed to be God. Being loved by God is twisted into a lust to God-performance. I get a glimpse of a world in which God is in charge and think maybe I have a chance at it. I abandon the personal presence of God and take up with the depersonalized and canny serpent. I flee the shining face of God for a slithery world of religion that gives me license to manipulate people and acquire godlike attributes to myself. The moment I begin cultivating the possibility of acquiring that kind of power and glory for myself, I most certainly will want to blot out the face, flee from the presence of the Lord, and seek a place where I can develop pride and acquire power.

Eugene Peterson, Under the Unpredictable Plant, Kindle ed., locations 184-185.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

