Skip to content

My Exceeding Joy?

February 18, 2011

Dale Ralph Davis writes

I often feel like the spiritual pigmy I am when I read the words of the sons of Korah in Psalm 43:3-4:

Oh send out thy light and thy truth;
let them lead me, let them bring me to thy holy hill and to thy dwelling!

Then I will go to the altar of God, to God my exceeding joy … (RSV)

God – my exceeding joy. Do I usually think of him that way? Seek him as such? Have this God as the center of my vision? Must he, should he not be such even in – especially in – my biblical interpretation? Maybe our problem is a spiritual one. Maybe we are not salivating for the triune God as we read our Bibles. Maybe we are seeking sermons and not him. Maybe we are looking for Bible studies rather than for the Holy One of Israel. Maybe it’s a matter of worship.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

